If you operate a business in Michigan and are considered an employer, you are legally obligated to pay unemployment taxes.
These taxes must be reported on quarterly wage and tax reports and paid into the unemployment insurance trust fund. The fund is used to provide benefits to eligible workers who lose their jobs through no fault of their own.
The reports, which include the name, social security number, and gross wages of each employee, are due on the 25th of the month following the end of each quarter. Late reports and payments may result in penalties and interest being applied to your account.
Even if you have no employees or wages to report for the quarter, you still need to file a report. This applies to businesses engaged in seasonal work, such as golf courses, landscape companies, or snow removal businesses.
To file your reports online, you must have an active account in the Michigan Web Account Manager (mywam). To create an account, go to the state’s website (www.michigan.gov/UIA), click on “Employer Services,” and select “Manage Your Tax Account.” If you already have an account, simply log in using your username and password.
Once logged in, click on “UI Tax” to access your quarterly reports and their status. To file a report, click on “File Return” next to the corresponding period. Follow the instructions provided, including inputting the number of employees that were working each month. The system will calculate the wages, tax due, and other information based on the reported wages.
If you have filed reports before, employee information will be pre-filled in the wage details section. For new reports, you will need to input all employee information. After verifying that the wages are correct, click “Next Step,” then “Submit” and input your password. A confirmation page will indicate that your report has been submitted.
The report will be posted to your account within two business days. You can print the confirmation page for your records or review it under the “Recent Items” tab. If any changes are necessary before processing, you can withdraw and resubmit the report.
It’s important to note that the Social Security numbers of all employees will be verified, and any inconsistencies must be corrected within 14 days. Otherwise, a quarterly fine of $250 will be assessed until the report is updated.
If you need assistance or have questions about filing your quarterly wage and tax reports, you can contact mywam support through the Office of Employer Ombudsman at 1-855-484-2636, option four. You can also find helpful videos on the Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency’s YouTube channel.